Nominate Students for 2024 Here (due May 5)

    Sponsored by Horace Mann

    2023 Winners from Hebron Middle School



    2022 Winners Riley Mowry & Hadley Donovan, 2023 Winners Lyla Mathew and Nathan Powell, 2022's Aleks Kennedy

     2023 Award Winners

    Hebron Middle School

    For 2023, two Shining Star Winners were named from Hebron Middle School. Susie Highley represented IMLEA and gave each winner a Shining Star trophy. Thank you to Robin Baiel of Horace Mann, who will be presenting the winners a gift card. These 8th graders exemplify the leaders that can emerge in middle school! And, although the ceremony had to move inside, it was still efficient and meaningful.

    IMLEA and Horace Mann have partnered for the last several years to recognize students, teachers, administrators, support personnel, and parents for outstanding contributions in support of their school. The award is open to any student in grades 5 – 8.  Any certified staff member from an IMLEA member school may nominate a student, but the nomination should be approved by a building administrator.

    The nominee must have done something extraordinary in their school and/or community. Students must have a passing grade average. The nomination form will ask for a narrative explaining the reason for nominating this person. In the spring of 2024, the form will be added to this page. The nomination will then be reviewed by the Executive Committee and judged as to its merits for the award.

    Schools of the winners will be notified and a Horace Mann representative or IMLEA Board member will come to the recipient’s school to present the award at an appropriate time, often an all-school award ceremony.

    IMLEA is grateful to the Horace Mann Companies for their generous funding and support of these awards. For questions, contact Susie Highley.


    Horace Mann