• 2022 Award Winners

    Hebron Middle School

    For 2022, three Shining Star Winners were named, all from Hebron Middle School. Thank you to Robin Baiel of Horace Mann, who attended the awards ceremony and presented each with a gift card. Susie Highley represented IMLEA and gave each winner a Shining Star shirt and trophy. Those three 8th graders, Riley Mowry, Hadley Donovan, and Aleks Kennedy,  exemplify the leaders that can emerge in middle school!

     2021 Award Winners

    Hebron Middle School

    Reagan Cole, Luke Charpentier, and Abby Mlechick


    IMLEA and Horace Mann have partnered for the last several years to recognize students, teachers, administrators, support personnel, and parents for outstanding contributions in support of their school. The award is open to any student in grade 5 – 9, or any teacher with any number of years of experience.  Any certified staff member from an IMLEA member school may nominate a student or a colleague, but the nomination form must be signed by a building administrator.

    Teachers designated as "STAR" winners are recognized in honor of Dr. Roger Boop, a retired professor from the education department at Butler University and long-time friend and supporter of IMLEA. 

    The nominee must have done something extraordinary in their school and/or community. Students must have a passing grade average. The nomination form will ask for a narrative explaining the reason for nominating this person.  The nomination will then be reviewed by the Executive Committee and judged as to its merits for the award.

    Winners and their administrators will be notified and a Horace Mann representative or IMLEA Board member will come to the recipient’s school to present the award at an appropriate time, often an all-school award ceremony.

    IMLEA is grateful to the Horace Mann Companies for their generous funding and support of these awards. For questions, call the IMLEA office at 317-894-2937.



2019 Shining Stars

Past Shining Star Winners: Hebron, Connersville